The First Week of Summer – May 21

Last week we began our summer quarter. We reviewed our syllabus and began to study.

The first days were a little confusing because we needed to move our class. We are now in W107. Here is a map to help you find the room. You can also use this map to find parking.

Map to W107

Reviewing goals & setting new

We talked about goals and how important they are. I talked about an inspiring woman named Carol Decker who came to speak at Bates. She stressed the importance of making goals to keep her going in the face of her many challenges after losing her legs. Here is a copy of Carol’s picture and some information about her.

A Beautiful Life flyer

Ventures – Around Town

We studied the unit called “Around Town” this week. It began with a picture of a train station. We learned ‘how long’ and ‘how often’ and used adverbs of frequency.

True story

We read true stories about Noah Webster and a few North American animals this week.

Writing workshop

We looked at our writing binders and wrote two pieces this week. We used correction clues to edit four mistakes in each piece of writing. I noticed that verbs are something we need to work on this quarter but was very happy with the way everyone began correcting their own mistakes and helping classmates.

Vocabulary

This week we studied rarely, chandelier, crutches, escalaoter, booth, and briefcase.

Assignment

Use ‘reply’ to type and post ONE of your writing pieces from last week.

This entry was posted in Weekly Class Posts and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to The First Week of Summer – May 21

  1. Alice says:

    A Nice Trip
    Last year, I went to Korea to visit my mother and grandmother. It was a long trip. It took 12 hours on the airplane. I was really tired. But, I was so happy and excited. We went to shopping center bought some clothes. After that, my mother took me to eat lot of Korean food. I felt happy in Korea.

  2. Mary Kamandala says:

    I did many thing last week,
    First, I visted my frined so we salvered a mather day.I take my sun to play sacar game in Fedrway then, I come back home and listen to my cauntry music. After that I when to wold mark to make shoping I so glad to do everting last week.

  3. MINH NGUYEN says:

    My last trip was last year, I went to Viet Nam , I got there by plane ,I went there one time a year it usually take 16 hours to get there ,i went there with my son ,i visited my family and consin

  4. Ila M. Atlaia says:

    Last week I wore a paragraph about I week.

    There was time for everything
    Last week I had two different situation. First, one of my nephews was died in Salem, Oregon. Next, my friend daughter died toe, and went to her funeral service. Than I took my wife to mother’s day shopping. After, that I visited my mom’s sister, and we had a mother’s day party. We felt sorry about our nephew and fried, but we are happy because they’re in heaven with God.

    • Karrie Zylstra says:

      Ila- I’m very sorry to hear that you needed to attend services. I wish you and your family well.

  5. Hanh Nguyen. says:

    Last week , I began Summer class and I learned some new words : escalator, booth, briefcase, crutches, chandelier, on grammar, I learned about : How often…?, How long….?, and adverbs of frequency: always, often, usually, sometimes, rarely, never. I learned two true stories : Noah Webster, and Skunks, Raccoons and Coyotes. I relearned Past Tense too, and I practiced this many times in class. regular and irregular verbs was reminded so much.

  6. Abel says:

    my last trip was december ,i went to visited mi friends in south olimpia.,i got there on the bus.im took the bus every day ,im visited my family.

  7. Anh Nguyen says:

    My paragraph “A Wonderful Week”
    Last week I did many things with other people. First, I went to school to take a new ESL class for Summer Quarter. Next, I wrote a letter to my father in-law in Virginia. Then I bought a dictionary book on line. After that, I played tennis with my son at the park. I felt happy to see these people last week.

    • Hanh Nguyen says:

      Courage
      Courage is a strength and power of a person. Courage is an opposite word of coward.
      If I have courage, I can protect myself, my family,and my country
      Ex; I had courage to attack robbers while I was being at home alone.
      I could jump down in the deep river to save a man when he was sunk ( he could die in some minutes).
      Courage combines with loyalism are a good person.

      • Karrie Zylstra says:

        Hahn- I’m impressed that you had the courage to attack robbers and save a man in a river!

Leave a Reply

